About Us

Ocean University of China (OUC) is one of the national key and comprehensive universities in China with its particular strength in marine science and fisheries sciences under the direct administration of the Ministry of Education of China. It was located in Qingdao, a beautiful coastal city in Shandong Peninsula of China since its first establishment in 1924. OUC was one of the first universities approved to confer PhD degrees, Doctor of Engineering, Master’s degrees and Bachelor’s degrees by the Academic Degree Committee of China. Now OUC can offer courses in Science, Engineering, Agronomy (Fisheries), Pharmaceutics, Economics, Management, Literature, Law, Education, History and Art. The motto of OUC is “Ocean Embraces Streams All; Exploring Promises Reaching Far”. 

Currently, OUC has three campuses including Yushan campus, Fushan campus and Laoshan campus. There are 17 Colleges and one Teaching Center for Fundamental Courses, and one Department of Social Sciences. The Graduate School of OUC is located in Laoshan campus.

The graduate education history of OUC can be traced back to 1948 in Yushan campus. For over a half-century, OUC has been an important part in the evolution of China's graduate education, especially in the graduation education for marine sciences and fisheries sciences. In 1978, after the Cultural Revolution, OUC resumed its graduate education and was accredited by the Ministry of Education in 1981 to grant advanced academic degrees. Since then, rapid progress has been made in every area of graduate education. On 9 November 2012, the Graduate Education Center of OUC was renamed as Graduate School of OUC, which suggests a significant progress of graduate education of OUC. Vice-President/Professor DONG Shuanglin is now working as the Dean of Graduate School and Professor FU Gang is the Executive Vice Dean. Presently, Graduate School has 22 staff, and is consisted of six departments, i.e., Admissions Office, Academic Affairs Office, Academic Degrees Office, Professional Degrees Office, Financial Aid and Fellowships Office and General Office.

Currently, OUC boasts 81 academic disciplines (majors) authorized to offer Doctorate degrees, 1 discipline (major) for Doctor of Engineering, 193 disciplines (majors) for Master’s degrees. Besides, the OUC can offer 13 programs leading to professional degrees such as Master of Business Administration (MBA), Master of Public Administration (MPA), Master of Accounting (MPAcc), Master of Laws (JM), Master of Engineering and so on. OUC has currently 8,400 doctoral or master’s degree students (among them over 1,600 are doctoral degree students), 4,200 on-the-job (part-time) postgraduates.  

OUC has currently established friendly cooperative relations with more than 170 universities and research institutions from over 30 countries and regions of the world. OUC has also initiated the establishment of International Association of Marine-Related Institutions (IAMRI), and carries out a number of international cooperative programs in research and education, such as the Sino-German Initiative on Marine Sciences, Sino-Australian Joint Research Center for Coastal Management, Sino-Korean Research Center for Marine Development, and etc.

The 21st century is an ocean-focused century. The development goal of OUC is to build a high-level university with international visibility so as to lay an initial foundation for a research-oriented university when OUC celebrates its 100th anniversary. The graduate education at OUC is now entering into a special period of rapid growth. It is believed that the future of Graduate School of OUC will be very brilliant.